New NPS MedicineWise honorary members

15 January 2014

Following an extensive call for nominations three new honorary members of NPS MedicineWise have been appointed.

Mr Gerard Stevens AM, Dr John Aloizos AM and Mr Tony Wade were invited by NPS MedicineWise Board to become honorary members of NPS MedicineWise.

NPS MedicineWise Board Chair, Dr Janette Randall, says the three new honorary members have each made significant contributions over many years to the quality use of medicines in their chosen fields.

“Mr Gerard Stevens AM, the founder and Managing Director of Webstercare, has a passion and commitment to developing better health outcomes. He has provided significant service to the pharmaceutical industry and to community health over the years as recognised by his appointment as a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia earlier this year,” says Dr Randall.

“Dr John Aloizos AM, General Practitioner and former Chair of APAC, has made outstanding contributions to improve the safety and quality of health services and medical practice for well over twenty years, and was also appointed Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his services to medicine.

“And Mr Tony Wade has extensive experience as an advocate addressing health issues from a consumer and carer perspective. Tony was a highly regarded and longstanding member of the PHARM committee, and has worked in numerous health and management roles during his career.

“All of our new honorary members have a strong commitment to quality use of medicines and better health outcomes for Australians, and the NPS MedicineWise Board is delighted to publicly acknowledge their respective contributions,” she said.

The new members join inaugural honorary members Ms Jan Donovan, Professor Emeritus Lloyd Sansom AO and Professor Richard Day AM, who were appointed in 2011; and Dr Stephen Phillips OAM, Emeritus Professor Anthony Smith and Ms Janne Graham AM who were appointed in 2012.


Independent, evidence-based and not-for-profit, NPS MedicineWise enables better decisions about medicines and medical tests. We are funded by the Australian Government Department of Health.

If you are a journalist seeking comment on a story or more information on any of our programs or campaigns please contact one of our media advisers: Stephanie Childs on 02 8217 8667 or Erin Jardine on 02 8217 8733 (during office hours) or call the NPS MedicineWise media phone on 0419 618 365 (for urgent media requests outside of office hours). If your enquiry is not urgent you can also send us an email.