Debbie Rigby reappointed to NPS board

22 August 2012

Ms Debbie Rigby has been reappointed to the NPS Board for a further three years as the Health Practitioner Class (Pharmacist) Director.

A Brisbane-based consultant clinical pharmacist, Ms Rigby first joined the NPS Board in August 2008.

NPS Chair, Dr Janette Randall, says Ms Rigby is a very well respected member of the Board and brings a wealth of skills, knowledge and experience from her work within the pharmacy and broader health sector.

“We are delighted that NPS will continue to benefit from Debbie’s high level governance experience, her in-depth understanding across community, clinical and consultant pharmacy, and her ability to recognise opportunities for quality use of medicines,” said Dr Randall.

Ms Rigby is an internationally recognised certified geriatric pharmacist and has received many accolades throughout her career, including an Amrad Pharmacy Specialisation Grant from the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia in 1999, the PSA Australian Pharmacist of the Year in 2001, the PSA Qld Bowl of Hygeia in 2002, and the inaugural Consultant Pharmacist Award for 2008.

She is currently Chair of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy (AACP) and a member of the National Advisory Group of AACP and the PSA Qld Branch Committee. She is also a Fellow of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists and an adjunct senior lecturer at the School of Pharmacy, University of Queensland.

Ms Rigby is a member of the NPS Audit Committee and represents the NPS Board on both the Pharmaceutical Decision Support and Medicines Line Advisory Groups.


Independent, evidence-based and not-for-profit, NPS enables better decisions about medicines and medical tests.We are funded by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing.