National Medicines Symposium 2020

NPS MedicineWise is hosting our next National Medicines Symposium (NMS) 2020 in Sydney.


NMS 2020 rescheduled until later in the year

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, and with the safety and well-being of our meeting attendees, presenters, staff and suppliers as our highest priority, we have had to reschedule NMS 2020. The postponed event will still take place as a one-day symposium in Sydney later in the year and we will confirm the new event details within the coming weeks. 

Choosing Wisely Australia National Meeting cancelled for 2020

Unfortunately we have had to cancel this year’s Choosing Wisely Australia National Meeting.

This was a difficult decision, as the National Meeting is an important component of the Choosing Wisely Australia initiative, however in the circumstances we have made the decision that we are best placed to plan to meet again in 2021. We want to express our support and thanks to all of those from our sector who are responding to COVID-19 and are committed to providing health care to people across Australia.

To find out more about the cancelled Choosing Wisely Australia National Meeting, including details on ticket refunds, go to


About NMS 2020

The theme for NMS 2020 is Rising to the medication safety challenge’.

A unique cross-disciplinary event, NMS 2020 will bring together the most influential organisations, individuals and decision makers in the health sector to discuss and debate key issues around quality use of medicines and health technologies, and to encourage collective impact with a focus on the needs of the consumer.

In the context of medicine safety being named as a National Health Priority Area and the third WHO Global Patient Safety Challenge: Medication Without Harm, the program will provide the latest content in the medicines and health environment, delivered by acclaimed experts.

Attracting people from all sectors of the health industry, NMS 2020 is a rare opportunity to network, share expertise, ideas and innovations.



NMS 2020 will include plenary sessions, lightning talks, panel discussions and poster displays. These sessions will provide an opportunity for health care professionals working in all fields to present and discuss their work with their peers.

Abstracts are now closed

We invited abstract submissions within the following streams:

  • Medication without harm
  • Insights from consumer journeys
  • Clinical innovation to meet new challenges
  • Partnerships in health, collaborating for impact
  • Medicines literacy for all

Find out more about abstracts.

More details about the speakers and the full program will be announced over the coming months.

Registration is open now.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sydney later in 2020.


Coronavirus (COVID-19) update

The safety and wellbeing of our meeting delegates and presenters is of utmost importance.

We are monitoring the situation with coronavirus (COVID-19) and advice provided by the Australian Government Department of Health, and will be responding accordingly.

We will provide further event updates on this web page and via email and social media.

Read more about mitigation measures at our venue Sydney ICC:

Read more about using your regular medicines in the times of novel coronavirus (COVID-19):


Key dates

  • Abstract submissions open: Thursday, 30 January 2020
  • Earlybird registration opens: Thursday, 13 February 2020
  • Abstract submissions close: Wednesday, 26 February 2020
  • NMS 2020: Event rescheduled, new date to be announced soon

Further key dates will be added in the coming weeks.



Registration for NMS 2020 is now open. We welcome all delegates and look forward to seeing you at the symposium.

There are three different types of registration:

  • Individual registration
  • Group registration for multiple delegates from the same organisation
  • Student registration

Please read all the information on this page before registering.

During the symposium we will have a registration desk on level 2 of the International Convention Centre, Sydney.


How to register

You can register online as an individual or in a group of two or more delegates from the same organisation.

Individual registration

Please create a new user account. It is important that you record your sign in details for later use. This will allow you to access your registration record to update your contact details, to make changes or to pay by credit card.

If you have submitted an abstract, you have already created an account – please sign in with your existing account email address and password.

By registering online, you will receive an immediate confirmation via email, including a tax invoice.

Register as an individual

Group registration

Organisations can use the group registration link to register multiple delegates. The group coordinator will need to create a new user account. It is important that you record your sign in details for later use.

This account will give the group coordinator access to the conference registration site to register participants and generate and print one tax invoice for payment. Individual participants will receive automated emails confirming their registration.

Register as a group

Student registration

Student registration is available for full-time students who are not currently employed full-time.

Register as individual student


What's included

Registration for NMS 2020 includes the following:

  • attendance at the symposium
  • a copy of the program
  • access to the symposium proceedings
  • morning tea, lunch, and afternoon tea

Registration fees

Registration fees are based on the date of receipt of payment (not the date of registration). All prices are in Australian dollars and include 10% Australian Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Registration type

Early registration

Late registration

Full registration – NMS 2020



Student/unwaged – NMS 2020




Payment methods

For individual and student registrations, a tax invoice will be automatically emailed to the address supplied upon submission of your registration.

For group registrations, the group coordinator must generate and print a group tax invoice through the group registration portal.

Registration fees can be paid by:

Credit cardMasterCard or Visa. Note that payments will appear as Expert Events on your credit card statement.

We are unable to accept payment by direct debit.


Changes to your registration

You can sign into your registration record using your account email address and password if you need to make changes to your registration. Alternatively, you can request a change in writing by emailing the symposium secretariat at [email protected].


Cancellations and refund policy

Cancellations must be advised in writing to the NMS 2020 secretariat.

Registration cancellations will receive a refund of registration fees, less an administrative charge of $50.

Eligible refunds will be issued after the conclusion of NMS 2020.

Transfer of registration

Registrations are transferable to a colleague at any time prior to the event, provided the NMS 2020 secretariat is advised in writing.



Contact the NMS secretariat.

Email: [email protected]

Phone: 07 3848 2100

Post: Expert Events, PO Box 351, Hamilton Central QLD 4007 Australia.


Previous events

The ninth National Medicines Symposium (NMS) 2018 was held 19–20 May 2018 at the National Convention Centre in Canberra. Thank you to everyone who came and contributed to make NMS 2018 such an excellent experience.

Find out more about NMS 2018.